Register for ACS’ Stretch Your Strategy Webinars

ACS offers six new webinars on competitive strategy

Image: geralt on pixabay.com

  • Why Strategies Fail (May 13)
  • Frames, Games, and Inspiration (May 27)
  • Why War Games Work (June 10)
  • Cyborg Strategy™ (June 23)
  • Executing a Strategy Does Not Mean Killing It (July 7)
  • How Strategies Succeed (July 21)

SELECT A PREFERRED TIME AND REGISTER BELOW
Download a dazzling webinar brochure

Webinars are free for individuals. Register for as many as you like. Corporate groups, professional associations, and universities, please contact ACS.

Webinars are non-commercial. They will not be recorded.

ACS offers each webinar three times, to fit time zones around the world

Time A: San Francisco 7 am, New York  10 am, London 3 pm, Johannesburg 4 pm, Tel Aviv 5 pm, Dubai 6 pm, Bangalore 7:30 pm
Everyone welcome. Best for Europe, Middle East, Africa, and west Asia.

Time B: Honolulu 8 am, San Francisco 11 am, New York 2 pm, London 7 pm, Johannesburg 8 pm, Dubai 10 pm. Next day: Auckland 6 am
Everyone welcome. Best for the Americas.

Time C: Honolulu 3 pm, San Francisco 6 pm, New York 9 pm. Next day: Bangalore 6:30 am, Kuala Lumpur 9 am, Sydney 11 am, Auckland 1 pm
Everyone welcome. Best for east Asia, Australia, and New Zealand.


Why Strategies Fail: Wednesday, May 13, 2020

It is easy to post-mortem once-proud companies. Everyone knows the usual suspects: complacency, quarterly reports, giving disruptors time and space to disrupt. We take comfort in “I would never be so foolish.” But the leaders of those once-proud companies knew the usual suspects, too.

Register for Time A
Register for Time B
Register for Time C
(“next day” for Time B and Time C is Thursday, May 14)


Frames, Games, and Inspiration: Wednesday, May 27, 2020

Inspiration is the offspring of serendipity (something goes boing! in our heads) and judgment (“good idea!”). Just remember: Every bad strategy started life as someone’s inspirational good idea.

Creativity is free, fast, fun, enlightening, and empowering. Its goal is not consensus, although that can be a bonus. Its goal is not even awareness, although that is necessary. Its goal is insight.

Register for Time A
Register for Time B
Register for Time C
(“next day” for Time B and Time C is Thursday, May 28)


Why War Games Work: Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Business war games are fun! But fun does not move bottom lines. What does? Solving problems. In this webinar: case studies of how war games helped strategists solve problems.

“The enemy is anybody who’s going to get you killed, no matter which side he’s on.” — Joseph Heller, Catch-22

Register for Time A
Register for Time B
Register for Time C
(“next day” for Time B and Time C is Thursday, June 11)


Cyborg Strategy™: Tuesday, June 23, 2020

IBM’s Deep Blue computer knew nothing about chess that world champion Garry Kasparov did not also know, and yet it beat him. My strategy simulations know nothing about strategy that I do not also know, and yet…

Cyborg Strategy™ helps us discover and stress-test strategies in ways that humans simply cannot do alone.

Optional: Participants in this webinar can experience cyborg strategy by entering the Top Pricer Tournament. It’s free and confidential, and you will receive a personal report that shows how your Tournament strategies performed. Click here to download a Tournament entry form (the password is Cyborg). You will be congratulated in the webinar as the Top Pricer if your strategies are best in your time group. It’s not a Nobel Prize, but it’s something.

Register for Time A
Register for Time B
Register for Time C
(“next day” for Time B and Time C is Wednesday, June 24)


Executing a Strategy Does Not Mean Killing It: Tuesday, July 7, 2020

What do you get if you freeze carbonated water? If you add water to coffee, do you have more coffee? Why do I ask such silly questions?

I ask because four decades pursuing wisdom in strategy has taught me a lesson: Silly questions, exercises, and puzzles can lead to serious, valuable insights.

Register for Time A
Register for Time B
Register for Time C
(“next day” for Time B and Time C is Wednesday, July 8)


How Strategies Succeed: Tuesday, July 21, 2020

Did Netflix win or did Blockbuster lose?

Many companies conflate happy outcomes with smart decisions: If we made our numbers we must have been smart, and if we missed our numbers we must have been not-smart. I respectfully but firmly suggest that that reasoning is wrong.

Register for Time A
Register for Time B
Register for Time C
(“next day” for Time B and Time C is Wednesday, July 22)